New Champions Crowned in Macra Debating and Basketball Finals

Post on: Tue, 27, March 2018

Fermoy Macra na Feirme from Avondhu, Cork took home the men’s Macra na Feirme/National Dairy Council basketball All-Ireland title in the ALSAA Sports Centre in Dublin last weekend. Slieve Bloom Macra from Laois were crowned women’s champions in the Macra/NDC finals. Fermoy have developed a talented basketball squad, retaining their title from last year’s triumph. For Slieve Bloom this represents a breakthrough first time win for this team.

Over 20 teams from all over the country took part in the finals held on Sunday. Killarney Macra from Kerry were runners-up in the women’s final and the current club of the year Ramor Macra from Cavan were beaten finalists in a tense affair in the men’s championship.

Speaking at the event, Macra na Feirme, National President, James Healy , who presented the trophies and medals on the day, said, “Well done to all teams who took part, basketball is one of our most popular sporting competitions and it’s great to see such huge participation levels from Macra members. Macra members also get a chance to build team spirit, improve fitness and the competitions provide a great social outlet for all. Macra is very much about promoting healthy living as the popularity of our competitions show and along with the National Dairy Council we are keen to emphasise the importance of an active, balanced lifestyle.

Meanwhile on a busy weekend in the Macra competitions calendar it proved to be a double success for the Avondhu region as Awbeg Macra won the Macra na Feirme All-Ireland Senior Debating title at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Dundalk, Louth on Saturday night.

The team of Niall O’Regan, Breda O’Keefe, Niamh Curran and Kate O’Regan edged out Bree Macra from Wexford over the motion that ‘Ireland its environmental commitments seriously’. Representing Bree on the night were Sinead Doyle, Johanna Wickham, Aine Doyle and Niall Doyle. Kate O’Regan from Awbeg was named ‘Best Debater’ on the night.

This year’s final was hosted by Louth Macra. Presiding for the evening was Helena Reynolds while the judges were renowned former Macra members Paud Leech of Termonfeckin Macra, former Macra National President Colm Markey of Togher and Termonfeckin Macra and Gertie McGee of Dromiskin and Stabannon Macra.

Macra na Feirme President James Healy congratulated both teams on the night and praised them for a robust debate in keeping with the competitions illustrious history.