News & Press Room

Freemount Macra Team Win All-Ireland Debating Final

15 March 2016
Freemount Macra Team Win All-Ireland Debating Final

Freemount Macra from Avondhu won the All-Ireland debating final at the Macra National AGM on Saturday, the 12th March, in the Fernhill House Hotel, Clonakility hosted by Carbery Macra.

Their team of Michael Curtin, Ann Fitzgerald,  Marian Brosan and Louise Bourke beat Donoughmore Macra on the motion “That today’s Irish Republic has failed in ‘cherishing all of the children of the nation equally’ as per the aspiration of the 1916 proclamation”.

Speaking at the final National President, Seán Finan, said, “Well done to both teams that reached the final and congratulations to the winners Freemount Macra. This is a great competition to help members develop their debating and speaking skills and we witnesses that with the wonderful debate at the final.”