News & Press Room

Young Leaders Recognised – Macra na Feirme National Leadership Awards

03 February 2016
Young Leaders Recognised – Macra na Feirme National Leadership Awards

At an event to recognise outstanding young leaders in Macra na Feirme, three winners were awarded National Leadership Awards. The announcement was made last night, Tuesday, the 2nd February, at a special reception in the Irish Farm Centre in Dublin.

The winners are:

  • Colm Stenson, South Leitrim Macra
  • Eilis Ahern, Carrigaline Macra, Seandun, Cork
  • Marie Murphy, Freemount Macra, Avondhu, Cork


The other finalists are:

  • Noel Duffy, Ferbane/ Banagher Macra, Offaly
  • Grainne O’Reilly, Ramor Macra, Cavan
  • Joan Marie Healy, Berrings Macra, Muskerry, Cork


Macra na Feirme National President, Seán Finan, said, “Congratulations to this year’s National Leadership Award winners. This competition recognises the hard work and commitment of our young leaders who play a major role in our organisation and who often go on to hold positions in other national organisations. Dating back to 1982, previous winners of the competition include current Government ministers and business leaders.”

The National Leadership Awards recognise the leadership skills of Macra members within their clubs and the wider community. The competition raises the level and standard of leadership in Macra and provides an incentive for the development of club programmes.

This year's six finalists were judged by a panel including Peter Byrne, CEO of FRS Network; Mary Cunningham, Director of the National Youth Council of Ireland (NYCI); and Neil Keane, President of the Agricultural Science Association (ASA).

The three winners were presented with specially commissioned commemorative trophies and will represent Macra on various international travel opportunities in 2016.