News & Press Room

National Leadership Awards Guest Speaker

29 January 2016
National Leadership Awards Guest Speaker
Recently, the six finalists in Macra na Feirme’s National Leadership Awards were announced. Macra National President, Seán Finan, is now delighted to announce that Teddy Cashman, IFA’s Liquid Milk Chairman and Chairman of the National Dairy Council is guest speaker at the awards final. The national final is due to take place on Tuesday 2nd February 2016 in the Irish Farm Centre in Dublin.
Teddy farms at Whitescross, near Cork City, and supplies year-round liquid milk to Dairygold/ Glanbia. Teddy is well respected among farmers, dairies and retailers. His aim is to secure high quality, locally produced fresh milk for local consumers by gaining recognition from dairies and retailers for supply arrangements which allow specialist year-round suppliers of fresh milk to cover their costs and earn a reasonable wage.
Each finalist went through a challenging interview process and will now proceed to the final interview stage.
The finalists are:
·         Eilis Ahern, Carrigaline Macra, Seandun, Cork
·         Noel Duffy, Ferbane/ Banagher Macra, Offaly
·         Joan Marie Healy, Berrings Macra, Muskerry, Cork
·         Marie Murphy, Freemount Macra, Avondhu, Cork
·         Grainne O’Reilly, Ramor Macra, Cavan
·         Colm Stenson, South Leitrim Macra
The awards are organised as part of Macra’s Leadership Training Programme. The aim is to provide opportunities for members to develop the knowledge, skills and attributes necessary for leadership positions either in Macra or in other voluntary roles or future occupations.