Origins of Macra na Feirme

Macra na Feirme is a voluntary organisation for young people between the ages of 17 and 35. The organisation consists of a nationwide network of clubs with six key areas of activity: agriculture, sports, travel, public speaking, community involvement and performing arts.

Macra na Feirme is committed to the personal development of members and puts emphasis on social interaction and participation.

Macra na Feirme was founded in 1944 by a group of 12 agricultural advisors, rural science teachers and farmers. Its first secretary was Stephen Cullinan, a rural science teacher.

Over 250,000 young people have passed through the ranks of Macra na Feirme. Much has changed since those early days; young people have different priorities now and need new challenges, which Macra today tries to provide.

Macra Club

Approximately one-third of Macra members are involved in farming, with males making up 60% of the membership and females 40%.

Macra is a democratic organisation and every member is entitled to air their opinions at club, regional and national level.

Macra na Feirme Established

  • The Irish Farmers Journal
  • Irish Creamery Milk Suppliers Associateion
  • Macra na Tuaithe (now Foroige)
  • National Farmers' Association (now IFA)
  • Farm Apprenticeship Scheme
  • Irish Farm Accounts Co-op (IFAC)
  • National Co-operative Farm Relief services Ltd


Presidents of Macra na Feirme

Macra na Feirme has to date 34 National Presidents serving a two year term. Below is a list of all past National Presidents:

William Bland (1946 - 1949) Laois

Dr Patrick Moran (1949-1951) Louth

John Litton (1951-1953) Dublin

Patrick Quinlan (1953-1955) Cork

P.I. Meagher (1955-1957) Tipperary

Paddy Donnelly (1957-1959) Offaly

Rory Murphy (1959-1961) Wexford

Michael Owen Fogarty (1961-1963) Wicklow

Michael Noonan (1963-1965) Limerick

Hugh Ryan (1965-1967) Laois

Joe Rea (1967-1969) Tipperary

Kieran Curtin (1969-1971) Limerick

Declan Martin (1971-1973) Cork

Tommy Sheahan (1973-1975) Cork

Sean Eustace (1975-1977) Dublin

Seamus O'Brien (1977-1979) Carlow

Seamus Hayes (1979-1981) Carlow

Flor Riordan (1981-1983) Cork

Richard Kennedy (1983-1985) Limerick

Padraig Walshe (1985-1987) Laois

Laurence Fallon (1989-1991) Roscommon

Matt O'Keefe (1991-1993) Kilkenny

William Gleeson (1993-1995) Wexford

Joe Healy (1995-1997) Galway

Tommy McGuire (1997-1999) Monaghan

TJ Maher (1999-2001) Tipperary

Seamus Phelan (2001-2003) Kilkenny

Thomas Honner (2003-2005) Wicklow

Colm Markey (2005-2007) Louth

Catherine Buckley (2007- 2009) Cork

Michael Gowing (2009-2011) Laois

Alan Jagoe (2011-2013) Seandun, Cork

Kieran O'Dowd (2013-2015) Sligo